david santistevan

worship.leadership

Lessons from a basketball

Just got home from a powerful first evening at City Reach 08. I am going to Ambridge Christian Center, my brother’s church, for the outreach this week. Tonight the guest speaker was Seth Franco. What an amazing story! Seth is a former Harlem Globetrotter and is now a youth pastor and speaker.

His story was inspiring to me for a number reasons. He has perfected his skill of basketball tricks. As he was doing his presentation you could visibly see him worshiping God. It caused me to ask these questions, ‘What am I intentionally doing for the glory of God? Am I running from my passions because I feel they will lead me out of God’s will, or are my passions given to me to express glory to God?

Seth had to come to a place where he was no longer pursuing his own dream for his own gain. He was blessed with a gift and worked extremely hard so that he could be used by God in a powerful way.

What are your passions? Are you running from them to stay focused?

Maybe you simply need to focus your passion in the right direction.

August 13, 2008 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

