david santistevan

worship.leadership

Depth or Breadth?

I just finished reading a great book on endurance. One of the authors, John MacArthur, poses a great quote. In the early years of his ministry he adopted this life posture:

“If you concentrate on the depth of your ministry, God will take care of the breadth of it.”

This is convicting. Before I was ever involved with full time ministry, I feel I focused hard on depth. I went after God. I studied His word. I took steps to witness to the lost and reach out to people. Somewhere along the line I feel I subtly began pursuing breadth at the expense of my depth with Christ. Ministry can too easily become a to-do list and go no further. When you think about it, trying to expand ministry in human strength is completely worthless anyway.

Over the last few days I have been asking God to challenge my heart. If the breadth of my ministry is up to Him, I want to focus my energies on my walk with Him and my faithfulness in the secret place.

Do you feel the same?

December 11, 2008 - Posted by | Leadership

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

