david santistevan

worship.leadership

Humbling Sports Moment

I recently submitted a story on another blog about an embarrassing sports moment that taught me some serious humility. I submit it to you for your reading pleasure… only if you still think highly of me…haha.

“Playing baseball was my lifeline as a young boy. And I was pretty good at it. I was the pitcher nobody liked to face. I even through a 16 strikeout game once. Can you just sense the humility here? For years my parents, coaches (mainly my Dad), and teammates recognized my gift and encouraged me in the game. Every summer I was part of a tournament “all star” team that traveled around the Pittsburgh area, playing other schools. In one particular game, we were facing a team who had a fantastic hitter.

I was pitching.

Two men were on base.

Mr. ‘Big Shot’ comes to the plate.

Just to be safe, we decided to intentionally walk this kid, who greatly resembled Goliath. I threw the catcher a couple balls. On the third pitch I threw it in a little close. Goliath swung and sent the ball out of the park.

A three run home run on an intentional walk.

That was the day I learned what humility was all about.”

February 5, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

