david santistevan

worship.leadership

Essential Questions for Leadership

Raising up leaders is very exciting work. The easy part is asking people. The hard part is following through. It’s fairly easy to build a team of people. It’s another thing to maintain a strong momentum in your leadership team. But that is where you must focus your energies.

Getting a bunch of bodies on board is essential, given they are the right kind of people. But how are you actually leading your team? Questions to ask:

  • Am I modeling the work ethic I am requiring?
  • Am I modeling a disciplined lifestyle of consistent prayer/Bible reading?
  • Am I praying for each of my leaders?
  • Am I breathing consistent, faith-filled vision?
  • Am I smiling and laughing a lot? (more important than you may think).
  • Am I constantly seeking to improve my leadership through reading & observing other great leaders?
  • Am I following through with team assignments?
  • Am I having one-on-one, face-to-face conversations and not just sending random emails all the time?
  • Do I know where we are going?
  • Am I improving my communication skills?
  • Am I challenging/coaching/encouraging in real time?
  • Do I honor/value/spend QT with my wife above my leaders?
  • Am I happy?

Any others you would add?

August 5, 2009 - Posted by | Leadership, Young Adult Ministry

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

