david santistevan

worship.leadership

Are You Lukewarm?

Over the last few weeks we at APEX have been talking a lot on the subject of being lukewarm.

As leaders in the church, I feel we can have the tendency to shy away from hard teachings. How do you preach on being lukewarm? “Welcome to my church, lukewarm and lazy Christians!” Yea, not the easiest message to deliver.

You have to confront. You have to convict. You have to be more faithful to the text of Scripture than you are to making friends.

But you also have to say things in a proper tone – with Biblical clarity, with respect, and in love.

When I stand before God at the last day I don’t just want to show Him my long list of facebook friends. I want to have lived unashamed of the Gospel, preached the full Gospel with all my heart, and enter into Heaven with thousands of true disciples that I’ve given my life for.

How about you? What are some hard things you have to teach in ministry?

October 27, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

6 Comments »

  1. Good word. Lately, I’ve been diving into some hard biblical truths, wanting to know the answer. I feel that the reason why some things are so “cloudy and unclear” in the Bible is because people muddy up the water with jargon, lots and lots of jargon. They do this because the truth is uncomfortable to them. But the truth must be told, we cannot settle at “We’ll never know.”

    Comment by Jarred Spengler | October 27, 2009 | Reply

    • Good word, Jarred. Are you a Bible college student?

      Comment by santahara | October 27, 2009 | Reply

    • I went to Bethany College of Missions and completed a one year bible course with them. Presently I’m working in the admissions department for BCOM.

      Comment by Jarred Spengler | October 28, 2009 | Reply

  2. what do you think of francis chan’s opinion that “there is no such thing as a lukewarm ‘Christian'” ?

    Comment by marksantistevan | October 27, 2009 | Reply

    • I agree. I think a lot of people really ‘get saved’ and some just entertain the idea intellectually. There’s a big difference there. Salvation is receiving a new heart. If all you do is ‘pray a prayer’ and ‘make a decision’ it’s not likely to last when crazy storms hit your life.

      Comment by santahara | October 27, 2009 | Reply

  3. Word to all of your mothers.

    Comment by Benjamin Davis | October 28, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

