david santistevan

worship.leadership

Vacation Reflections

My wife and I just returned from Riviera Maya, Mexico. We spent a week there for our 1 year anniversary. It was wonderful on a number of levels. I thought I’d share:

  • All inclusive resorts are the best vacation, in my opinion. Beautiful beaches, activities, food, etc. All you want. All the time.
  • My wife is a beautiful person. I love her more than ever and this trip was some of the best time we’ve had together. It is so healthy to get away with your spouse and invest in one another.
  • I woke up early every morning to work out and read my Bible. I know, why would I wake up early on vacation? I find it refreshing to escape my usual routine. While waking up early to work out is something I probably wouldn’t due at home due to other responsibilities, it was so refreshing on this trip.
  • We snorkeled a lot, saw the Mayan ruins of Tulum, went zip-lining, checked out a crazy wildlife preserve with spider monkeys, alligators, turtles, birds, etc. Awesome.
  • I was able to finish a few books: Leading on Empty by Wayne Cordeiro, Blink by Malcolm Gladwell, and A Sweet & Bitter Providence by John Piper. All fascinating reads. Btw, “Leading on Empty” is the PERFECT vacation book for church leaders. It helped me relax and lifted the guilt of not doing work while I was gone. Also inspired me for the future.
  • Emily and I started reading “Becoming Your Spouse’s Better Half” by Rick Johnson together. A good book that helped us focus on our relationship with each other.
  • If you ever visit a resort, go to the spa. Hydrotherapy + 50 minute massage = heavenly.
  • In a sense being on vacation at such a beautiful place helped me appreciate what I do. If I was given up to complete leisure for the rest of my life I wonder what condition my soul would be in at the end of the day. I’m thankful for ministry, for the work of Christ, for the Word of God which teaches me what is most important in this world.
  • The only downside was that Emily’s iphone was stolen. Other than that, wonderful.
May 19, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

