david santistevan

worship.leadership

What Cinnamon Crunch Squares Can Teach You About Ministry

This morning I poured a delicious bowl of Cinnamon Crunch Squares. Yep. I said it correctly. It’s a knockoff Aldi brand for the ever popular, game-changing Cinnamon Toast Crunch. As I was taking in bite by bite, realizing the taste is identical for half the price, I was struck by a disturbing thought.
In my life and ministry and walk with Jesus, I don’t want to simply create Cinnamon Crunch Squares. What do I mean by that? In order to create Cinnamon Crunch Squres, you don’t need to be innovative. You just have to copy. You look at Cinnamon Toast Crunch, mimic the recipe, switch the words around, create an imitation logo, and there you have it.
It’s doing what someone else has already done.
Here’s what I’m thinking:
  • In my walk with Jesus, I don’t want to just apply and mimic someone else’s experience with God. I want to have a personal encounter with Jesus.
  • In my ministry I don’t want to just mimic what other churches and ministries are doing. I want to catch God’s heart for my people, my areas.

It is possible to be in ministry but never pray. You just copy. It is possible to “walk with Jesus” but never read His Word for yourself, just the latest books.

I’m not against resources and learning from others. Matter of fact, if you think you don’t need others, that’s another problem.

But what about you? Are you living a secondhand faith, copying what’s happening around you but not seeking God for yourself?

Are you creating Cinnamon Crunch Squares?

September 21, 2010 - Posted by | Leadership, Theology

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

