david santistevan

worship.leadership

“God, make me dangerous” vs “God, keep me safe”

“Dear God, thanks for this food. Make it healthy to our bodies. Nourish us and strengthen us. Keep us safe in all we do and help us to have a good time. In Jesus’ name, amen.” Sound familiar?

I have prayed that prayer numerous times, and yesterday during our band devotions, I was struck again by the profound, specific prayers of the apostle Paul. He prayed dangerous prayers. Faith-filled prayers. Prayers that took God at His Word. While there’s nothing necessarily wrong with the aforementioned prayer, I think we fall into prayer ruts where that is all we pray. Consider what Paul said:

“Continue steadfastly in prayer, being watchful in it with thanksgiving. At the same time, pray also for us, that God may open to us a door for the word, to declare the mystery of Christ, on account of which I am in prison – that I may make it clear, which is how I ought to speak” (Colossians 4:2-4).

It’s verses like this that continually shake me out of my lazy complacency. Let individual words sink it.

Continue.

Steadfastly.

Watchful.

Thanksgiving.

Pray for us.

Paul didn’t just want to be kept safe. It doesn’t seem like he was ever concerned with safety. In the midst of prison, his main desire was that the Gospel message would be clearly spoken through his life at all costs. And he wanted the Colossian church to pray to that end.

What if instead of “God, keep me safe” we began praying “God, make me dangerous to the devil’s plans?”

If you don’t know what to pray, start with the prayers in the Bible. Start with this one. It may just revolutionize your prayer life.

What do you think?

October 11, 2010 - Posted by | Theology

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

