david santistevan

worship.leadership

The Pitfalls of “Professional” Worship Leaders

I’m somewhat leery of the term “professional” when it comes to leading worship. What make someone professional?

I know I offer a lot of tips on this blog. How to flow in the spontaneous and some qualities of a great worship leader and even how to lead a great rehearsal. These are great things. But allow me to challenge you today:

Beware of becoming too professional.

The Bible says that “knowledge puffs up”. As worship leaders we don’t want to become so professional that we lose the simplicity of what we do.

As I prepare to lead worship for a retreat this weekend, I don’t just want to do it professionally. I want to approach my Daddy God like a child. I want to be lost in wide eyed wonder. I want my love for Jesus to compel me.

When you started leading worship, you probably didn’t sing that well. Maybe you were clumsy in your exhortations. Maybe you started a song in the wrong key. Maybe you accidentally said ‘crap’ instead of ‘clap’ (who does that? 🙂 )

But I bet you were passionate to be in God’s presence.

Don’t approach God with anything less than wide-eyed wonder this weekend.

What are your thoughts? How do you guard your child-like passion as a worship leader?

November 5, 2010 - Posted by | Worship Leaders

2 Comments »

  1. Have you been giving God crap-offerings lately?

    Comment by Aaron | November 5, 2010 | Reply


Leave a comment