david santistevan

worship.leadership

Do You Disciple Your Worship Team?

What I love most about leading worship (I guess besides actually worshiping God) is making disciples. Each member of the worship team is someone called by God whom I have the privilege of pouring into.

I believe sometimes we can short circuit what God wants to do through our worship team because we give excuses. “I can’t afford to hire good musicians.” “I just don’t like asking him all the time.” “This schedule is just too busy for people.” “There’s too many services at this church!” Or we just get into ‘weekly maintenance mode’ and lose the big picture of what we are doing.

Let me ask you a couple questions. What culture are you creating with what you’ve got? Do you have a process within your worship team where individual growth is intentional? Are you creating enough margin in your schedule to dream dreams and seek God’s vision for your worship team?

I’d like to share our process with you in hopes that if you don’t have a discipleship strategy for your worship team, that you would start. Or if you do, keep doing it. I’m not saying this way is the only way. Just let it stir your imagination. And let me know if you come up with even better ideas.

When I’m thinking about worship team discipleship, I’m asking the question, “What can we do WEEKLY, MONTHLY, and ANNUALLY?”

WEEKLY

  • 15 minute band devotions on Sunday morning (study a good book and/or book of the Bible)
  • Pre service prayer (short, declarative prayers)
  • Rehearsals (rehearse songs & ‘flow’ moments)

MONTHLY

ANNUALLY

  • Refresh Night (a rehearsal night where we meet off-site and simply worship, cast vision, and hang out. We do this 3x/year.)
  • Attend a local conference

What is it that you are doing? What has been helpful for your worship team?

November 18, 2010 - Posted by | Worship Leaders

5 Comments »

  1. […] Thursday Do You Disciple Your Worship Team? […]

    Pingback by The Weekly Wrap-Up « david santistevan | November 21, 2010 | Reply

  2. […] to happen. This is so important. Make your discipleship intentional. I’ve already written a previous post on How to Disciple Your Worship Team, so I won’t repeat myself here. I find it healthy to […]

    Pingback by 5 Ways You Can Improve Your Leadership « david santistevan | December 16, 2010 | Reply

  3. […] is your strategy for discipleship? What apprentice worship leaders are you raising up? What are you going to do in 2011 that will have […]

    Pingback by How Worship Leaders Can Prepare for a New Year « david santistevan | December 28, 2010 | Reply

  4. […] is your strategy for discipleship? What apprentice worship leaders are you raising up? What are you going to do in 2011 that will have […]

    Pingback by How Worship Leaders Can Prepare for a New Year « david santistevan | December 28, 2010 | Reply

  5. […] discipleship plan is in […]

    Pingback by 10 Ways to Define Success as a Worship Leader « david santistevan | January 7, 2011 | Reply


Leave a comment